NCBA World Series

Since 2015, Pittsburg, Kansas has hosted a World Series for the National Club Baseball Association (NCBA) (see below). In 2021, teams from across all three of the NCBA divisions compete as a single division with their World Series to be at the Gene Bicknell Sports Complex on the campus of Pittsburg State University.

A baseball fan’s dream, these collegiate clubs are ran entirely by the student-athletes, with no scholarships. They play to represent their school, for the love of the game, and to be a national champion. #NCBAWS

What are collegiate club sports?

Clubs represent their colleges, but these students are on their own. Club managers/administrators say they are taken out of their comfort zone, learn leadership, time management, and organizational skills, while fundraising and advocating for their club. They plan schedules, transportation, training and conditioning, and playing time. Their success is determined as much by what they do off the diamond, as the talent they have on it.

No matter the age, I hope that what we’re doing can inspire players of all ages to play the game because you love it. Baseball shouldn’t be about scholarship money or even (high school) state titles; it should be about playing for the love of the greatest game ever made.

Nathan Grimaldi, Pittsburg State University (KS) Gorillas Club Baseball, 2018 NCBA D2 World Series Runner-Up

What you need to know for 2021

Teams | Bracket | Travel Info & Tickets | Follow Live | Long Ball Challenge | History

Dates: May 28 through June 2, 2021
Location: Al Ortoloni Field at the Bicknell Sports Complex, 2009 S Rouse St, Pittsburg, Kansas
Participants: East Carolina (At Large), Iowa (Great Lakes Regional Title), Iowa State (At Large), Nebraska (Mid America Regional Champion), North Dakota (Northern Plains Regional Champion), Oregon (Northern Pacific Regional Champion), Salisbury, MD (North Atlantic Regional Champion), and Virginia Tech (South Atlantic Regional Champion)

Regional Champion Team PhotosRegional Playoff Brackets (May 14-16, 2021)

NCBA World Series results in Pittsburg, Kansas

Year: 2019
Division: II
When: May 16-21, 2019
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark
Participants: Air Force, Binghamton NY, CMU Montebello, Georgia Southern, Maryland, Pittsburg State KS, West Virginia, Wisconsin
Championship: Air Force vs. Pittsburg State University
Champions: Pittsburg State University
Tournament MVP: Jordan Miller

Year: 2018
Division: II
When: May 18-22, 2018
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark
Participants: California University of PA, Metro State University, Pittsburg State University KS, South Dakota State University, San Diego State University, Siena College, St. Joseph’s University, Longwood University
Championship: San Diego State University vs. Pittsburg State University
Champions: San Diego State University
Tournament MVP: Ryan Chibidakis

Year: 2017
Division: II
When: May 19-23, 2017
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark
Participants: SUNY Binghamton, Slippery Rock University, Salisbury University, Florida Gulf Coast University, University of Windsor, Ohio State University, Texas A&M Corps of Cadets, Arizona State University
Championship: Slippery Rock vs. Windsor
Champions: Slippery Rock
Tournament MVP: Ryan Huey

Year: 2016
Division: II
When: May 20-24, 2016
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark (some games in Joplin, MO due to weather)
Participants: Penn State University (DII), Texas A&M Corps of Cadets, University of Tennessee – Chattanooga, University of Windsor, University of Maryland (DII), Slippery Rock University, University of San Diego, Saint Louis University
Championship: UT – Chattanooga vs. Saint Louis University
Champions: UT – Chattanooga
Tournament MVP: Ty Tucker

Year: 2015
Division: II
When: May 15-19, 2015
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark
Participants: University of North Carolina – Wilmington, Eastern Kentucky University, SUNY – Brockport, Penn State University (DII), Minnesota State University – Moorhead, Virginia Commonwealth University, Saint Louis University, Colorado School of Mines
Championship: Eastern Kentucky University vs. Penn State University
Champions: Eastern Kentucky University
Tournament MVP: Dusty Ridner