From Miners Hall Museum
Miners Hall Museum in Franklin, KS is proud to announce the 2022 Second Quarterly Exhibit, “Little Balkans Coal Camp – Arma”, opening April 1 and continuing through June 26, 2022.
This exhibit will feature the fascinating history of the coal camp now known as Arma. Join us as we celebrate the unique and interesting history and growth of Arma, KS.
Arma was incorporated as a city on May 18, 1909. Previously the city had been known as Rust, Armiton, and Armacost, a small coal camp which was laid out in 1886. The city was named for William F. Armacost one of the owners of most of the land north and east of the camp.
Arma has become a family-oriented community with all the joys and conveniences of small-town living. It is a town proud of its heritage.
The special quarterly exhibit is hosted by Christie Nicoletti Parrish. Christie and her husband Wayne have been married 48 years and have 1 daughter, Jennifer Dugan, and 3 grandchildren. She was a beautician for 27 years and sold prom and wedding gowns. She also worked at First State Bank and Community National Bank and Trust. She loves to craft in her spare time.
The exhibit will open April 1, 2022, and is on display through June 26. Admission to the museum is free. The three monthly programs are held on Sunday afternoon and begin at 2 pm. Doors open at 1:45. Admission to all programs is free.
Special monthly programs scheduled for this exhibit include:
April 24: “Rediscover Arma” will be presented by a panel consisting of Joan Barbieri, Emma Louise Ales, Pat McKee, and Mike Doue. Spend the afternoon learning about the Coal Camp of Arma and its changes throughout the years. Hear interesting stories about businesses that have kept Arma a thriving small hometown community.
May 22: “A Taste of Arma” will be presented by Rachelle Mengarelli and will include a French Cookie demonstration. Watch and learn as she creates those tasty cookies that abound around the holidays.
June 26: “Coming Home” will be presented by Bill Kovacic. Bill will have a lively presentation on the longest WWII Homecoming held in the country right here in Arma, Kansas, and learn about the Arma military families who each sent five sons to WWII.
For further information on our programs, you can follow “Miners Hall Museum” on Facebook or Twitter or become a member of the museum.
The museum is open for viewing Monday through Saturday 10:00 a.m. through 4:00 p.m. Admission to the museum and the programs is free. Donations are accepted and appreciated. The museum and our facilities will adhere to the pandemic guidelines for Crawford County and the State of Kansas.
If you have artifacts, photos, or stories relating to this exhibit and would like to donate or loan them for this exhibit or future display at the museum, please contact the museum to share this wonderful history.